India’s autonomous regions are those that have been granted a measure of independence from the laws and processes of the State within which they are situated. The following are examples of autonomous regions:

North Sentinel Island (in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands)
Although the Andaman and Nicobar Islands are Union Territories of India, the North Sentinel Island remains relatively independent. The people living on this island refuse to have any contact with people from the “outside world”. In fact, their lifestyle, beliefs and ideals have had very little influence from any other societies, making them particularly intriguing. This island is considered to be autonomous because its residents have refused to sign any sort of legal agreement or treaty stating otherwise. However, they remain under the laws of Indian government, which is more of a technicality due to the fact that no foreigners ever make their way onto the island to investigate its goings on.

Bodoland Territorial Council (in Assam)
The Bodoland Territorial Council was established in the mid-1990’s and has power over 40 official areas.

Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (in Assam)
This council oversees the vast majority of the development departments in the area.

Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (in Jammu and Kashmir) – Leh and Kargil
The people of Ladakh have significant religious and cultural differences to those of Kashmir. For this reason, they had been appealing for an independent Union Territory to be established for quite some time. India responded by forming this council which, while limited, has independent authority to make some important decisions on behalf of its residents in Leh and Kargil.

Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (in Meghalaya)
This council includes both the east and west Garo Hills districts.

Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (in Meghalaya)
As implied by its name, this council covers the autonomous regions of the Jaintia Hills.

Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (in Meghalaya)
The West and East Khasi Hills districts as well as the Ri Bhoi area fall under this council.

Chakma Autonomous District Council (in Mizoram)
There is a group of people belonging to the Chakma community living in south-west Mizoram. These ones fall under this autonomous council.

Lai Autonomous District Council (in Mizoram)
In south-east Mizoram, the Lai people depend on this council for their autonomy within Indian legislature.

Mara Autonomous District Council (in Mizoram)
Southern Mizoram is home to the Mara people, who fall under the Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC).

Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (in Tripura)
There are several Indian tribes living in the rural areas of Tripura. These are administered by this council, which is situated in Khumulwng.

Darjeeling Gorkha Hill Council (in West Bengal)
The Ghorka people initially wanted a separate State, which was to be called Ghorkaland. This request led to a great deal of political conflict during the late 1980’s. Eventually, this council was formed and given autonomy with certain restrictions.

Site Map Copyright © TO THE TOP   Privacy Policy